Tue, 20 March 2018. 09:31

On Monday, the MLAs and MPs will vote to elect the 14th President of India.

Ram Nath Kovind, the BJP led NDA candidate seems to have a higher advantage over Meira Kumar, former Lok Sabha Speaker, and his opposition nominee.

The voting will be conducted today from 10 A.M., to 5 P.M. The votes will be done with paper ballots and they will only be valid if the special violet ink pen is used to vote.

The electoral college of the presidential election has 4,120 MLAs and 776 MPs.

Experts have revealed Kovind is most likely to win 70% of the votes with his majority in Lok Sabha and in 17 states.

The votes will be counted on July 20th in New Delhi once all the ballots are brought together from all the different state capitals. President Pranab Mukherjee’s term will come to its end on 24th July.

There have been a total of 32 polling stations set up. One in the Parliament House and one in every state legislative Assembly.

The Election Commission has appointed a total of 33 observers to oversee the elections.

The Prime Minister has already congratulated Ram Nath Kovind in advance as he feels the ‘road ahead is clear.’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.