Lok Sabha Elections – PM Modi To Contest In Puri Or Varanasi?

Lok Sabha Elections PM Modi To Contest In Puri Or Varanasi?,Lok Sabha Elections 2019, Elections 2019, PM Modi Likely To Stick With Varanasi, Where will PM Modi contest elections from?, 2019 General Elections live updates, Narendra Modi to contest from Odisha Puri, PM to contest polls from Varanasi, Mango News

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is likely to contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Varanasi.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) sources ended the speculations about whether PM Modi will contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Puri, Odisha, or Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh. The Party sources said, PM Modi will most likely stick to the Varanasi constituency in the Lok Sabha elections.

The speculations made their way after the BJP unit in Odisha said, the Party leaders and workers want PM Modi to contest in Odisha.

In 2018, Basant Panda, the President of the BJP unit of Odisha, said, “We want the Prime Minister to contest the 2019 elections from Puri. However, the final decision will be taken by the BJP Parliamentary Board.”

After that, when asked about whether Modi will accept the proposal of the BJP unit of Odisha and contest in Puri, Mr. Modi said, “Media persons also should get some work.”

In 2014, Mr. Modi contested two seats, one in Varanasi and one in Vadodara, Gujarat and won both the seats. However, he decided to retain the Varanasi constituency.

Similar to the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, it is unclear, if PM Modi will contest in Varanasi, or Puri, or both.

According to sources, if PM Modi does not contest in Odisha, Sambit Patra, the BJP spokesperson, may contest in Puri.

Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh (UP) will contest a total of 80 seats in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The UP Lok Sabha elections are divided into 7 phases, scheduled on the 11th of April, 18th of April, 23rd of April, 29th of April, 6th of May, 12th of May and 19th of May.


Odisha will contest a total of 21 seats and the Odisha Lok Sabha elections are divided into 3 phases, scheduled on the 11th, 18th and 23rd of April.

The major parties contesting are the Indian National Congress (INC) and the BJP.

The results will be announced on the 23rd of May.

Stay tuned for further updates about the Lok Sabha elections.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here