Lok Sabha Elections – Amit Shah Seeks An Apology

Lok Sabha Elections – Amit Shah Seeks An Apology, Azam Khan's remark on Jaya Prada, BJP national president Amit Shah latest news, SP leader Azam Khan latest news, Lok Sabha Election 2019 LIVE Updates, Mango News, Amit Shah demanded an apology from Samajwadi Party, Uttar Pradesh Lok Sabha elections

Amit Shah, the President of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP,) sought an apology from Azam Khan, a member of the Samajwadi Party (SP.)

Azam Khan, on the 14th of April, addressed a public rally in Rampur, Uttar Pradesh (UP) and made remarks about Jaya Prada, a Member of Parliament (MP) candidate from Rampur.

Mr. Shah claimed, Azam’s comments were derogatory and insulted crores of women and asked the Election Commission of India (ECI) to take a stand and punish Azam Khan.

Amit Shah, on the 15th of April, addressed a public rally in Kodinar, Gujarat and said, “The repugnant comments by Azam Khan against Jaya Prada ji are not an insult of just Jaya ji but of crores of India’s mothers and daughters. The Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party and Azam Khan should immediately apologise to the crore of women of the country for insulting the matru shakti (women power) (sic.)”

Azam Khan’s comments drew a lot of criticism from the BJP leaders and on social media platforms.

Hema Malini, an actor turned politician, criticised Mr. Khan and said, “It is extremely disgusting. Nobody has the right to make such statements regarding women. I am not saying this just because she (Jaya Prada) is a politician. Such things should not be said about any other female too.”

The UP Police registered a First Information Report (FIR) against Azam Khan under Section 509 (Insulting modesty of a woman) of the Indian Penal Code (IPC.)

However, the SP leader denied the allegations and said, he did not name anyone in his remarks. Azam also said, if proven guilty he will leave the MP candidature from the Rampur constituency.

Azam Khan is the MP candidate from Rampur representing the grand alliance of the SP and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) in Uttar Pradesh.

Uttar Pradesh will contest a total of 80 seats in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, which are divided into 6 phases. The elections are scheduled to be held on the 18th of April, 23rd of April, 29th of April, 6th of May, 12th of May and the 19th of May.

The major parties contesting the Lok Sabha elections are the Indian National Congress (INC,) the BJP and the grand alliance of the BSP and the SP.

The results of the Lok Sabha elections will be announced on the 23rd of May 2019.

Stay tuned for further updates about the Lok Sabha elections.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here