Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 : Voting For First Phase Underway Amid COVID-19  

On the 28th of October, the first phase of the Bihar Assembly elections began. 

In the first phase, voting for 71 Assembly constituencies would be held.

The Opposition led by the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) is leaving no stone unturned to win the elections against the Nitish Kumar led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Government.

This is the first elections conducted amid the outbreak of the Novel Coronavirus or COVID-19.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged voters to follow the guidelines of COVID-19 and maintain distance while voting.

The voting began at 7:00 A.M., and would continue till 4:00 P.M.

A total 16 districts have gone to polls in the first phase.

Nearly 2,14,84,787 voters would decide the fate of 1,066 candidates. Of the total candidates, 952 are men and 114 women.

The major parties contesting the elections are the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and the Mahagathbandhan (Grand alliance.)

In NDA, the Janata Dal (United) JD(U) is contesting 115 seats, the BJP 110 seats, Vikassheel Insaan Party 11 seats and Hindustani Awam Morcha seven seats of the total 243 seats in the state.

Meanwhile, in the Mahagathbandhan (grand alliance), the RJD is contesting 144 seats, the Indian National Congress (INC) 70, theThe Communist Party of India (Marxist–Leninist) CPI-ML 19, CPI six and CPI-M four.

The Bihar election is being conducted in three phases.

While the first phase on 71 seats is underway, the second phase of voting for 94 seats would be held on the 3rd of November and the third phase of polling for 78 seats on the 7th of November 7.

The results would be declared on the 10th of November.

Stay tuned for further updates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here