Center Forms Committee Of 259 Members For 75th Independence Day Celebration

On the 5th of March, the Central Government formed a committee for the 75th Independence Day event. 

The committee of 259 members would be headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The committee was formulated to commemorate the 75th Independence Day of India.

According to the sources, the formed committee would provide guidelines and policy direction for the commemoration of the 75th Independence day celebrations. This year, India would complete 75 years of independence and for the same the celebration would be held at both national and international levels.

The newly formed committee includes former President of India Pratibha Patil, the National Security Agency (NSA) Chief Ajit Doval, the Chief Justice of India (CJI) S.A. Bobde, Bharat Ratna Awardee Lata Mangeshkar, senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader L.K. Advani, Nobel laureate Amartya Sen, former PM Manmohan Singh, the Indian National Congress (INC) Chief Sonia Gandhi, H.D. Devegowda, the Trinamool Congress (TMC) President Mamata Banerjee, 28 chief ministers, union ministers and several governors.

In addition, opposition leaders like the Communist Party of India (Marxist) CPI(M) General Secretary Sitaram Yechury, the National Congress Party (NCP) leader Sharad Pawar, former Uttar Pradesh chief ministers like Mulayam Singh Yadav and Mayawati are also part of the committee.

According to the sources, marking the 75 years of independence, the Central Government is planning to celebrate the event for 75 weeks.

The Government is likely to launch celebrations 75 weeks prior to the 15th of August 2022, which is the 12th of March 12, 2021.

The day is also the 91st anniversary of the historic Salt Satyagraha led by Mahatma Gandhi.

The first meeting of the formed committee would be held on 8th of March.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here