Karnataka By Elections – BJP Wins Against INC And JD(S)

BJP Leads In Karnataka, BJP Wins Against INC And JD(S), Congress Defeat In By-polls, Karnataka By Elections, Karnataka Bypoll Results, Karnataka Bypoll Results 2019, Karnataka Bypoll Results Updates, Karnataka Political News 2019, Karnataka Votes Counting, Latest Political Breaking News, National News Headlines Today, national news updates 2019

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) wins the Karnataka by elections against the Indian National Congress (INC) and the Janata Dal (Secular) (JD[S].)

On the 9th of December, after several rounds of counting, the Election Commission of Karnataka announced the  by elections’ results. The BJP candidates for the Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLA,) won in the 12 Assembly constituencies out of 15.

On the 5th of December, Karnataka conducted its by polls in the 15 Assembly constituencies. The by polls were conducted after the seats became vacant due to the disqualification of 15 rebel Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) of the Indian National Congress (INC) and the Janata Dal Secular [JD(S.)]

With this victory, B.S. Yediyurappa, the Chief Minister of Karnataka, is all set to retain power in the State.  According to the EC of Karnataka, to retain power, the BJP needed 6 seats, but it won more than the minimum.

Meanwhile, the Indian National Congress (INC) secured 2 seats, whereas, the remaining seat was secured by an independent MLA candidate. 

After the results were announced Siddaramaiah, the leader of opposition in the Assembly and a leader of the INC, took the responsibility  for the defeat and resigned from his post.

Mr. Siddaramaiah said, “I express my sincere regret for not being able to give satisfactory results in the recently concluded by elections held to Karnataka Legislative Assembly despite my sincere efforts.”

Another leader of the INC, Dinesh Gundurao also resigned as the President of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC.)

However, both the resignations  have not yet been accepted by the INC.

Stay tuned for further updates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here