Wed, 17 January 2018. 10:54

From May 14, 2017, eight states employees of Petrol Pumps decided to keep it closed on Sundays. The states include Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Haryana, Puducherry, and Maharastra. Almost 20,000 petrol pumps across these states will be closed on Sundays.

This decision was taken by the Consortium of India Petroleum Dealers (CIPD,) keeping in mind the vision of PM Narendra Modi for reduction of fuel consumption. The petrol pumps would be shut for 24 hours and will in the case of an emergency have one staff member to provide fuel on holidays. Also, so as to cut costs, this staffer will be available only between 9:00 A.M., to 6:00 P.M., in the above mentioned 8 states.

The Centre has also adopted a strict stance and said that any threat by the association will be dealt based on the severity of the issue. They also said necessary supplies and essential commodities will be provided to pumps in emergency situations.

Some of these states expect a loss of Rs. 150 crores because of this decision. This is mainly because of the operational charges which include wages, electricity, insurance, water and maintenance, taxes/audit, telephone/bank charges, uniform, printing and stationery, consumables and staff welfare. For this, the committee has demanded higher margins from the commission to meet the charges.

May 10 has been declared as ‘No Purchase Day’ to mark the start of petrol pumps closing on Sundays from May 14.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Latest News