WB Assembly Elections: BJP Office Vandalised In WB, Party Alleges TMC 

Hours after the Election Commission of India (ECI) announced the West Bengal Assembly elections schedule, vandalism and fighting started in the State. 

On the night of the 26th of February, a few unidentified goons vandalised the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) office in the Baranagar area of North 24 Parganas, West Bengal.

The BJP condemned the vandalism and alleged the Trinamool Congress (TMC) was behind this.  One of the miscreants was beaten up by the BJP supporters and was later rescued by the police and taken to the police station.

The BJP leaders in West Bengal filed a case with the North 24 Parganas Police and blamed the TMC for the incident. 

The Election Commission of India on Friday announced that West Bengal will witness an eight phased Assembly polls, beginning March 27.  The counting of votes will take place on May 2.

The West Bengal Assembly elections for 294 seats would be held in 8 phases, starting from the 27th of March till the 29th of April.  In the first phase, the fight would be for 30 Assembly constituencies in five districts, in the second phase 30 Assembly constituencies in four districts would go to the polls, in the third phase, 31 constituencies in 3 districts would go to the polls.

In the remaining phases, 44 constituencies in five districts (Phase 4,) 45 constituencies in 6 districts (5th phase,) 43 constituencies in 4 districts (6th phase,) 36 constituencies in 5 districts (7th phase) and 35 constituencies in 4 districts would contest in the final 8th phase. 

Pollings are scheduled on the 27th of March, 1st of April, 6th of April, 10th of April, 17th of April, 22nd of April, 26th of April and the 29th of April respectively. 

The ECI has appointed two special police observers, Vivek Dubey and M.K. Das for West Bengal.  There is a tough fight between the BJP and the TMC in West Bengal.  Both the political parties are trying to win the elections and kick started campaigning in the State. 

With the announcement of the election schedule, the Model Code of Conduct has come into force in the state.

Besides West Bengal, the ECI also announced the election schedule for Tamil Nadu, Assam, Puducherry and Kerala was also made during a press conference.  The results of all the Assembly elections in the aforementioned states would be announced on the 2nd of May. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here