On Thursday, the High Court of Telangana rejected the resignation submitted by the judge who delivered the Mecca Masjid Blast verdict. The National Investigation Agency (NIA) Judge Ravinder Reddy acquitted all the main accused in the 2007 Mecca Masjid blast.

Hours after announcing the shocking verdict, the judge filed his resignation with the Court. However, the Court rejected his request and demanded he return to his duties immediately.   

The judge acquitted the five men accused in the case on the basis of lack of evidence. After the verdict, All India Majlis e Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) Chief Asaduddin Owaisi said justice was not served. On Monday, the Chief reacted to the judgment of the NIA Special Court stated the investigation was biased.

A National Investigation Agency (NIA) Special Court acquitted the five accused from the 2007 Mecca Masjid attack in Hyderabad. The Court at Nampally announced the verdict and acquitted the main accused Swami Aseemanand.  

The NIA originally charged 10 people with plotting and carrying out the attack with an improvised explosive device (IED) on the 18th of May 2007. Among the 10, former RSS member Sunil Joshi was murdered during the investigation.

Two other former RSS members Sandeep V. Dange and Ramchandra Kalsangra have managed to elude the officials. Tejram Parmar and Amith Chowhan who are also accused in the case are still being investigated.

On the 18th of May 2007, a powerful IED bomb blew up at the Mecca Masjid in the city during the regular Friday prayers. A total of 9 people died while 58 were injured in the blast. Violence broke out immediately after the blast which resulted in the death of 5 people.