Telangana Government Appoints New Information Commissioners

The Telangana Government, on the evening of the 10th of February, issued a notification regarding the appointment of 5 information commissioners in the State.

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) Government approved the appointments of Katta Shekar Reddy, M. Narayana Reddy, G. Shankar Naik, Syed Khaleelullah and Mohammed Ameer Hussain.

The appointments of all the officers came after a meeting took place at Pragathi Bhavan on the 9th of February.  K. Chandrashekar Rao, the Chief Minister of Telangana, chaired the meeting, which was attended by Akbaruddin Owaisi and Vemula Prashanth Reddy.

The meeting was held after the Supreme Court (SC) directed the State Governments in India to appoint at least 4 information commissioners under the Right to Information Act.  

After the meeting on the 9th of February, Akbaruddin Owaisi and Vemula Prashanth Reddy nominated 5 names and sent the list to the State Governor for approval.

On the 10th of February, Tamilisai Soundararajan, the Governor of Telangana, approved the list.

The 5 Information Commissioners would serve as Information  Commissioners for 3 years.  With the appointment of the 5 commissioners, the total strength of the State Information Commission became 7.  

All the newly appointed Information Commissioners would take over their posts soon.

Stay tuned for further updates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here