CAA 2019 – Uttar Pradesh Govt Sends 1st List Of Refugees To Central Govt

CAA 2019, Citizenship Amendment Act 2019, Latest Political Breaking News, Mango News, National News Headlines Today, national news updates 2020, national political news 2020, Uttar Pradesh Government, Uttar Pradesh Latest News

After the Citizenship (Amendment) Act [CAA,] 2019 came into effect on the 10th of January, 2020, Uttar Pradesh (U.P.,) became the first State to send a list of refugees. 

On the 12th of January, the U.P.,Government sent a list of Hindu refugees from Pakistan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh who are living in 19 districts of U.P.

The report prepared by the State Government read, “Uttar Pradesh Mein Aaye Pakistan, Afghanistan Aevam Bangladesh ke Sharnarthiyon ki Aapbeeti Khan (sic.)”  

The Uttar Pradesh Government directed all the district magistrates to identify the refugees from Pakistan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh residing in their areas, prepare a list and submit the same to the State Home Ministry.

Based on the report submitted to the State Government, approximately 40,000 non Muslim immigrants are living in 19 districts of U.P.  The 19 districts of U.P. where these immigrants are residing are Agra, Rae Bareli, Saharanpur, Gorakhpur, Aligarh, Rampur, Muzaffarnagar, Hapur, Mathura, kanpur, Pratapgarh,Varanasi, Amethi, Jhansi, Bahraich, Lakhimpur Kheri, Lucknow, Meerut and Pilibhit.

The list was submitted to the State Home Ministry and Yogi Adityanath, the Chief Minister of U.P.

The Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 2019, which came into effect on the 10th of January, provides citizenship to Hindus, Christians, Sikhs, Parsis, Jains and Buddhists from Pakistan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh.  The refugees belonging to these communities, who have been residing in India since or before the 31st of December, 2014, are eligible to get Indian citizenship under the Act. 

Stay tuned for further updates. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here