ECI To Announce Assembly Elections Schedule Of Five States, Press Meet At 4:30 PM

The Election Commission of India (ECI) is going to announce the election schedule in 5 poll bound states.

According to sources, the ECI Commissioner Sunil Arora would conduct a press conference at 4:30 P.M., and announce the election schedule. The five states contesting the Assembly elections are West Bengal, Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and the union territory Puducherry.

While 294 Assembly seats are slated to go to the polls in West Bengal, 234 seats are in Tamil Nadu, 140 seats in Kerala, 126 seats in Assam and 30 seats in Puducherry.

The terms of Assembly legislative for all the above mentioned places would end in June 2021.

With the announcement of the election date, the Model Code of Conduct (MCC) would come into immediate effect in the aforementioned places. The announcement and the press conference came a day after the ECI held a meeting with its members.

After the Novel Coronavirus or COVID-19 broke out, this is the second time ECI is making arrangements for the Assembly elections. In November 2020, the Commission announced and conducted Bihar Assembly elections.

The major political parties like Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP,) the Trinamool Congress (TMC) of West Bengal, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) of Tamil Nadu and Indian National Congress are in the fray in different cities.

Stay tuned for further updates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here