INC Chief Whip Issues Statement To Boycott Parliament Monsoon Session 2020

Boycott Parliament Monsoon Session 2020, Chief Whip of the Indian National Congress, INC Chief, INC Chief Whip Issues Statement To Boycott Parliament Session, Jairam Ramesh, Parliament, Parliament Live Updates, parliament monsoon session 2020, parliament session, parliament session 2020, Rajya Sabha Monsoon session Day 9

Jairam Ramesh, the Chief Whip of the Indian National Congress (INC) on the 22nd of September issued a statement to boycott the Monsoon Parliament Session.

Mr. Ramesh said the INC along with the 12 other opposition parties decided to boycott the ongoing Monsoon Parliament Session.

The decision was taken after a meeting was held between the INC and 12 other parties including, the Trinamool Congress (TMC,) the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP,) the Communist Party of India (Marxist) and others.

Another major reason to boycott the ongoing Parliament Session is due to the suspension of 8 Members of Parliament (MPs) from the session.

On the 21st of September, MPs of the INC, the AAP, the TMC and the CPI (M) were suspended for unruly behavior. The MPs created chaos and violence during the session over three farm bills, approved by the Rajya Sabha, following which they were suspended.

In regard to the situation, the INC said the suspension of the MPs, not letting the leaders of the opposition to share their views over any issue and not referring the bills to a standing or select committee are a few main reasons to boycott the session.

Jairam Ramesh even took to Twitter and shared 7 reasons to boycott the ongoing session.

In his tweet, Mr. Ramesh said, “The manner in which Bills have been bulldozed by the Government, the manner in which eight MPs were suspended without being given a hearing and without division on suspension motion as per the rules, the manner in which Leader of Opposition has not been allowed to speak, the manner in which the Government has simply failed to accommodate views of the Opposition; the manner in which crucial Bills have not been referred to Standing or Select Committees, the manner in which division vote was not allowed on the 2 agricultural marketing Bills; the manner in which MSP (minimum support price) was not made part of the agricultural marketing law and not made applicable to private trade.”

In another tweet, he posted a picture and captioned, “Here are the 7 reasons why the Congress and like minded parties are boycotting (the) rest of the Monsoon session of Rajya Sabha.

The Monsoon Parliament Session which started on the 14th of September, is likely to continue only till this week.

Initially, the session was scheduled to end on the 1st of October, but due to the increasing cases of the Novel Coronavirus, the Parliament session would end soon.

Stay tuned for further updates.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here