Sardar Iqbal Singh Lalpura Assumes Office Charge As NCM Chairman, To Resolve Pending Issues Soon

BJP Government, Indian Public Service, Mango News, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, National Commission for Minorities, NCM Chairman, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Prime Minister Narendra Modi Government, Sardar Iqbal Singh, Sardar Iqbal Singh Lalpura, Sardar Iqbal Singh Lalpura Assumes Office Charge As NCM Chairman, Sardar Iqbal Singh Lalpura takes charge as Chairman, Union Minister for Minority Affairs

On the 11th of September, Mr. Sardar Iqbal Singh Lalpura, the National Spokesperson of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP,) took charge of the office, as the Chairman of the National Commission for Minorities (NCM.)

Mr. Sardar Iqbal Singh Lalpura assumed office in the presence of Union Minister for Minority Affairs, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi. With this, the Prime Minister Narendra Modi Government aims to strengthen minorities in India with the BJP agenda, ‘Sabka Sath Sabka Vikas.’

Extending wishes, Mr. Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi said, “The Government’s efforts for empowerment of all sections have shown results on the ground. The Government has ensured justice for the victims of 1984 riots by constituting an SIT.” The responsibility of the NCM Chairman would be to resolve pending issues of minorities in India.

Expressing gratitude to Mr. Narendra Modi and his BJP Government, Mr. Sardar Iqbal Singh Lalpura said, “I will work to protect the interests of minorities across the country and am thankful to the Government for choosing me for this responsibility.”

The appointment of Mr. Sardar Iqbal Singh Lalpura is said to have major political significance, especially in Punjab which is scheduled to go for Assembly polls in 2022. It is to be noted, Mr. Iqbal Singh Lalpura hails from Ropar district of Punjab State. He has served as the Indian Public Service (IPC) officer, has been active during the farmer’s protest against three farm laws and has written several books on Sikh philosophy and history.

With this, Sardar Iqbal Singh Lalpura became the second Sikh to hold the position of the NCM Chairman. The first Sikh to hold the position was Mr. Tarlochan Singh (2003-2006.)

In addition, with the appointment of Mr. Iqbal Singh Lalpura, the NCM has 2 active members. The National Commission for Minorities is mandated to have one chairperson, a vice chairperson and five members, that is a total of seven.

However, with only two active members, Mr. Iqbal Singh Lalpura and Mr. Atif Rashid, the appointment of 5 members is pending. The five remaining appointments of the members are to be done by the 30th of September.

Stay tuned for further updates.

Mango News Link


Google Play Store:

Apple / iOS Store:





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here