West Bengal Assembly Election Fourth Phase Underway, 1.15 Crore Voters Eligible To Cast Vote

2021 West Bengal Assembly elections, Mango News, West Bengal Assembly Election 2021, West Bengal Assembly Election Fourth Phase, West Bengal Assembly Election Fourth Phase Underway, West Bengal Assembly Election Polling, West Bengal Assembly Elections, West Bengal Assembly Elections News, West Bengal Elections, West Bengal Elections Fourth Phase, West Bengal Elections live updates, West Bengal elections updates

West Bengal is conducting the fourth phase of the State Assembly elections 2021. The voting for the fourth phase elections began at 7:00 A.M., and would continue till 5:00 P.M., for 44 Assembly seats. 

In the fourth phase, high profile constituencies like Cooch Behar in North Bengal, Howrah, Hooghly, South 24 Parganas and parts of Kolkata in south Bengal are contesting elections. In addition, the home constituency of the West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee since 2016, Bhawanipur is also contesting the Assembly elections in the fourth phase. However, this time Mamata Banerjee is not the Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) candidate from Bhawanipur. This year, Ms. Banerjee filed her nomination against Suvendhu Adhikari of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) from Nandigram. In Bhawanipur constituency, Sovandeb Chatterjee of the Trinamool Congress (TMC) is contesting against Rudranil Ghosh of the BJP.  

Another high profile constituency is Tollygunge, where Union Minister Babul Supriyo is the BJP’s candidate against the sitting TMC MLA Aroop Biswas.

Meanwhile, The Election Commission has deployed 793 companies of Central armed security forces for 44 seats in the fourth phase of Assembly polls in the State.

Over 1.15 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise to decide the fate of 373 candidates. In addition, Phase 4 recorded 16.65% voter turnout till 11:00 A.M

Polling percentage in other regions:

Coochbehar: 15.39%

Alipurduar: 17.97%

Howrah: 17.48%

South 24 Parganas: 13.26%

Hooghly: 17.04%

Updates of the ongoing elections in 44 Assembly constituency of West Bengal 4th phase elections:

During the polls, the BJP candidate Locket Chatterjee’s car was attacked in Hooghly.

First time in West Bengal election’s history, a voter was shot dead at Sitalkuchi in Cooch Behar. Two people were arrested in the matter immediately. The victim was 18 year old Anand Barman.

The BJP is confident of winning the elections, Rajiv Banerjee, a BJP leader said, “TMC finished here, only Modi’s strategy will work in Bengal.”

The TMC writes to Election Commission (EC) alleging ruckus and violence across several booths in Sitalkuchi, Natalbari, Tufanganj and Dinhata. In the letter, the TMC said the BJP goons are creating a ruckus outside the booth and preventing TMC agents from entering the booth. In regard to this, the TMC demanded necessary actions from EC against the opposition BJP.

Chilli powder was thrown at a CPI(M) agent in a polling booth in Gangulybagan in Jadavpur Assembly seat in southern parts of Kolkata.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi urged the voters in the fourth phase of the West Bengal election to cast their votes in record numbers on Saturday. “As the 4th phase of the West Bengal elections begin, urging the people voting today to do so in record numbers. I would especially request the youth and women to vote in large numbers.”

Prime Minister Narendra Modi to address a public meeting today at 3:15 PM at Krishnanagar Govt College playground, Krishnanagar in West Bengal.

This time, national leaders of the BJP like Amit Shah, Manoj Tiwari, Yogi Adityanath, Ravi Kishan, J.P. Nadda and Prime Minister Narendra Modi did a door to door campaign for the Party in West Bengal. This year, the tough fight for the 294 Assembly seats in West Bengal is between the BJP and the ruling TMC.

West Bengal would vote again a week later for the 5th phase, scheduled on the 17 of April.

The West Bengal Assembly elections are divided in 8 phases, the last three phases are scheduled on the 22nd of April, 27th of April and 29th of April. The counting of votes would take place on May 2.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here